The Orb of Truth by Brae Wyckoff @BraeWyckoff | @kurtsprings1 #review #fantasy #christian

16155612

Author: Brae Wyckoff

Book: The Orb of Truth (The Horn King #1)

Published: November 2012

Publisher: LR Publishing

Genre: Fantasy

Source: ebook

Rating: Print

Synopsis:

Bridazak is an Ordakian and a skilled thief. He and his friends Dulgin the Dwarf and Spilf, a fellow Ordakian, are some of the few nonhumans that dare live openly. One hundred years ago, the Holy City disappeared and plunged the world into darkness. Human kingdoms have taken control, sending the other races into hiding. The three friends live relatively quiet lives until they discover a mysterious artifact. This thrusts them into an adventure that test their courage and their faith as they pursue the threads of an ancient prophesy.

Evil forces seek to stop them, and they find unexpected friends along the way.

Review:

Brae Wyckoff has created a world similar in nature to many of the realms of Dungeons & Dragons, with similar settings, races and monsters. A major difference is the Christian nature of the book. My experience with the Christianization of the fantasy genre has been that the authors often fall into the trap of Deus Ex Machina, which translates “the god out of the machine.” This is a device authors use to save the day for the heroes with some kind of divine intervention without adequate preparation of the audience. In other words, the author hands the protagonist an unearned victory, often leaving his or her audience feeling cheated. Brae Wyckoff does come close, but manages to stay just inside the line. The result is an intriguing tale of faith and heroism. People who do not enjoy religious themes may not enjoy the book. However, those who don’t mind religious themes may find it enjoyable.

3 thoughts on “The Orb of Truth by Brae Wyckoff @BraeWyckoff | @kurtsprings1 #review #fantasy #christian

  1. Hi Kurt,
    Nice to see you again. I believe we have a love of dystopian literature in common. You are a published author and college professor? I have my Masters Degree. College teaching could be in my future as well, but for now I’m having fun blogging, and I still teach middle school.
    Thank you for your visit to my site today; I am glad you liked my post about how to find and maintain a niche.
    Janice

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m not actually a huge fan of dystopia. I do appreciate it as a subgenre, but I prefer more of an action adventure, space opera, type stuff. My own Dreamscape Warriors Novels, I like to call paranormal, military science fiction. I also have an edited volume out from the British Archaeological Report International series called Landscape and Identity:Archaeology and Human Geography. Seven contributors including myself. Science fiction is much more fun to write.

    Like

Leave a Reply

